Welcome to the homepage of the

Nonlinear optics group at INO-CNR


Enlarge map

Experiments:

Spatio-temporal instabilities in a Fabry-Pérot resonator filled with Na vapour.

Frequency stabilization of a 1083 nm diode laser on I2 transitions by second harmonic generation(SHG) in a periodically-poled KTiOPO4 (PP-KTP) crystal.

Difference frequency generation (DFG) at 4.25 μm in a periodically-poled LiNbO3 (PP-LN) crystal.

Experimental test of fundamental quantum mechanical principles for identical spin-0 particles.

Coupling to a high-finesse cavity of narrow-linewidth coherent radiation tunable around 4.25 μm.

Absolute frequency measurements on the ν3 ro-vibrational band of CO2 around 4.25 μm with an optical frequency-comb synthesizer.

Two-tone frequency-modulation spectroscopy on N2O with a quantum cascade laser at 7 μm.

Precision spectroscopy of metastable atomic 3He.

30-mW mid-IR DFG in a Ti:sapphire laser with a periodically-poled MgO:LiNbO3 crystal.

Laser cooling of Yb atoms.

Measurement of the intrinsic linewidth of mid-IR and THz quantum cascade lasers.

Frequency stabilization of a quantum cascade laser at 4.4 μm to a CO2 Lamb-dip feature obtained with sub-Doppler polarization spectroscopy (collaboration with Hamamatsu Photonics).

Amplification of a 2 μm optical frequency comb by a solid-state amplifier (collaboration with Politecnico di Milano).

Injection locking of a Fapry-Perot quantum cascade laser at 4.5 μm by DFG radiation referenced to an optical frequency-comb synthesizer (collaboration with ETH Zurich).

Optical detection of 14C16O2 around 4.5 μm with quantum cascade lasers and saturated-absorption cavity-ring-down (SCAR) technique.

Experimental study of a mid-IR quantum cascade laser frequency comb.

Generation of a THz frequency comb by optical rectification of a near-IR frequency comb in a waveguide non-linear crystal with Cherenkov phase-matching for absolute frequency referencing of a quantum cascade laser.


Researchers:
Pablo Cancio (pablo.canciopastor@ino.it)
Saverio Bartalini (saverio.bartalini@ino.it)
Simone Borri (simone.borri@ino.it)
Paolo De Natale (paolo.denatale@ino.it)
Iacopo Galli (iacopo.galli@ino.it)
Giovanni Giusfredi (giovanni.giusfredi@ino.it)
Davide Mazzotti (davide.mazzotti@ino.it)

Post-docs
Giulio Campo (giulio.campo@ino.it)
Luigi Consolino (consolino@lens.unifi.it)
Annamaria Campa (annamaria.campa@ino.it)
Francesco Cappelli (francesco.cappelli@ino.it)

Ph.D. students


References